h1

The CSA Bounty

8 August 2009
Destined for greatness.  In my tummy.

Destined for greatness. In my tummy.

So Hottboxxx asked if I wanted to go in on a share of CSA from Ross and Barb’s farm – I’m a newbie to participating.  This week is oodles of tomatoes (one accidentally fell onto a knife and into my mouth almost right away), eggplant, white cucumbers, carrots, yellow squash, mixed colored beans, chard, kale, basil…I think that’s all.  As if. Since he had lots of stuff left from last week, most of it came home with me and I’m determined not to let any of it go to waste.

Gave some cukes and eggplant to Larry when I saw him on the dock yesterday, sent some cukes home with BorK for T., and I think I can make and share good things with the rest.  Either a white gazpacho (thanks for the recipe Sam!) or simple slices with vinegar and seasoning is the plan for the cucumbers and a basic, fresh, light red sauce seems like the best use for the ‘maters.  After several BLTs, of course.  I’ll just sautee the chard, I think – ditto for the squash and oh yeah, zucchini!  (Big one, with big seeds, so not the best for bread, I don’t think.)  Little steam on the beans, though I’ve eaten a few already as is and they’re sure good.

Here’s what I’m starting with.  I’ll post “post” pics when I’m done.

The first round of produce from CSA!

The first round of produce from CSA!

Update: 11:45 p.m. – much deliciousness abounds!

Dueling cukes - jefe on the left, me on the right.

Dueling cukes - jefe on the left, me on the right.

Jefe’s not the fan of tomatoes that I am, so his cucumbers have none, but both have fresh basil, white wine vinegar, s&p, and a bit of garlic powder.  Pretty simple, but rocking delish.

Basic fresh tomato sauce

Basic fresh tomato sauce

Found a ton of recipes for sauces online, but most had one of two problems: they wanted hours of simmering or they started with canned tomatoes.  I wanted a quick, light sauce from the fresh food sitting on my prep table.  Additionally, the idea of ‘x-ing’ and boiling and peeling them always puts me off of sauces.  I can do it, but it seems time-consuming so I avoid it.  So amid the great, but incorrect, recipes out there, I found three utterly fantastic things on this nice internet thingy, which I actually can’t wait to share.

The recipe I ended up starting with was this one, from chez pim.  The technique of removing the pulp for a few minutes while you cook the liquid down is sheer genius and really, really works for keeping the sauce from being watery, like so many fresh homemade ones can end up.  Great find #2 is from waaaaay down in the comments, where a reader shares the way to avoid having to boil and peel the tomatoes.  After coring and quartering them, and seeding them, you simply run them up and down your box grater – you’ll end up with just the skin left and if you do it over a bowl, very little mess.  Unbelievable.  I’ll never stress about peeling tomatoes again!

The other great thing was the Five Minute Tomato Sauce Recipe from 101 Cookbooks.  In addition to the items I added to the chez pim recipe (basil, tiny bit of sugar, red pepper flakes, and some grated ParmReg) I heeded the suggestion of adding lemon zest  from this recipe and am very pleased with the zip and brightness it brings – perfect for the freshness I was aiming for.  I may end up just putting this on bread or pizza crust, but if not I’ll likely get some of that zucchini into it.  Even more yums.

Happy late summer, for goodness sake!

Leave a comment